Earlier this summer, I started a Hymn Journal project that was very meaningful. The Hymn Journal “Ponder Anew” was authored by Justin Rossow and published by Next Step Press.

At the end, I was challenged to think about the next step in my faith walk, and more specifically, “What promise of Jesus is guiding your next step?” 

In Ephesians 3:16-18, I found this encouraging promise: That according to the riches of his glory he may grant you to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith—that you, being rooted and grounded in love, … may be filled with the fullness of God.

Yes, Lord, that definitely motivates me to meet with You daily!

When I was asked to consider a new position, I thought, what promise of Jesus is guiding my next step? I turned to Romans 12:2 and read, Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

When I accepted the position, it was with the promise that God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work (2 Corinthians 9:8).

So far, so good, but I realized that in order to truly utilize the promises of Jesus I had to expand my “collection” of them! To have them easily accessible, I began writing them on index cards – one verse each day. I also text a photo of each day’s verse to my nephew – he’s my accountability partner!

VAD with article and index card

After I started collecting them on a ring, I expanded to a card file.

VAD with article and card file

I found this verse-card-a-day resource from the Visual Faith Ministry website to be very helpful as I started this project.

Each card – like each promise – is unique. Sometimes I use scrapbook paper or my grandson’s finger paintings or other art as backgrounds.

 

Sometimes I cut words or pictures from magazines or junk mail and incorporate them. It’s easy to use a sponge or stencil and some ink for backgrounds, too.

 

You can draw or use stickers. Don’t worry about perfect lettering – it’s the PROMISE that is important!

 

I am sure you have favorite verses highlighted or underlined in your Bible or displayed in your home. Perhaps you would like to get some index cards, or a journal, and write them out! Savor the grace, love, forgiveness, and peace found in Jesus’ promises as recorded in His Word. Share those promises with others in cards or texts you send, photos you post (#lwmlintheword, #visualfaith, #verseadaycard, #nextsteppress), or art you make. But most importantly, use them to answer the question, “What promise of Jesus is guiding your next step?”

If you would like a few promises to get started, here are a few of my favorites:

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it (1 Corinthians 10:13).

The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love (Psalm 103:8).

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness” (2 Corinthians 12:9).

“In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world” (John 16:33b NIV).

“Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God. Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows” (Luke 12:6).

The article shown in the photos is from the Lutheran Woman’s Quarterly Fall 2020 Issue. For links to downloadable articles, Bible studies, and LWML items in current and past issues click here. For print or digital subscription information click here.

Eden Keefe is a former LWML Vice President of Christian Life and currently serves as LWML Vice President of Gospel Outreach. She is also a Visual Faith™ Ministry Coach and Teacher.  The Hymn Journal “Ponder Anew” was authored by Rev. Dr. Justin Rossow and published by Next Step Press.

Leave a comment